Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

If we were having coffee… this week

on July 27, 2016

imagesGGRBUWHT

Hi everyone,

I’m back again for another ‘If we were having coffee…’ post so please grab your coffee and settle down with me for a chat…

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I spent two weeks in Perth recently for my dad’s 70th birthday. It was the first time since I got married and had kids (15 years) that I was alone with no one but myself to worry about! What a treat. I slept in every day, watched movies in bed every night (of my choice – no sports, no action packed movies or thrillers!!!) and did whatever I wanted all day. It was magical. I spent most of my time with my family – parents, sister, brother, nephew and nieces and had the best quality time with them ever – not having to be disturbed every few minutes with the call ‘mu-um’ J My husband stayed in Mauritius with the kids and I must say he did a fantastic job – so I told him I would definitely do it again next year 🙂 This said, I was thrilled to see my brood again and was greeted at the airport with a sign that said,

“YES WE LOVE MUM”  🙂

we love lmum

If we were having coffee I would tell you that although once I was in Perth it was wonderful, the pre-getting-on-the-plane anxiety was as usual a nightmare. It really ruins all the fun in going on holiday and I wish I could just be normal, and just be excited to get on a plane and travel the world like most people. But no, not me!

anxiety girl

.

As I observed other passengers in the departure lounge eating, having a drink or laughing and chatting away happily, just totally relaxed – I really wished I could be like that instead of having my insides twisted in a knot, not being able to get anything down and wanting to crawl under my sheets and hide. But the good thing is that although I had my anxiety attacks before both departures, I still managed to go, and that makes me stronger…

The anxiety is there and it’s horrible, but I won’t let it get the better of me!

imagesTRSLRX12

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had the huge treat of having coffee with the lovely and amazing Tess Woods whose beautiful book Love At First Flight came out in bookstores in Australia today!

tess

She was as lovely as I knew she would be and it was like I had known her all my life. It’s the first time I’ve met a foreign author in person, so it was a doubly special moment 🙂

tess et moi

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I ended up working with Sue Traynor on my cover (she’s done the covers of romantic comedy authors Geralyn Corcillo & Rich Amooi) and I just love her work. The cover is gorgeous and we’ve almost finalised it – just a last few colours and font details. It’s so exciting!

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that my book is finally out with Beta readers and that I should be getting feedback by next week. I’m so nervous!

beta reader

On the same note, I would add that I’m having trouble deciding how to start the prologue of my book – I have two possible options and just can’t make up my mind on which one I prefer, so I decided to ask for help through a survey.

question

I must say that so many people have been wonderful and taken the time to read the options and give their opinion, and I’m really grateful. But there’s just a tiny problem at the moment… We’re at a stalemate – Option 1 and 2 are at a tie!! Looks like I’ll have to flip a coin between the two after all:-)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that we are at our beach cottage for a month as it’s the school holidays (2 months). Although it’s winter here at the moment, somehow at the beach it doesn’t matter too much. It’s a bit windy and the water is a rather cold, but the kids have lots of friends around and spend their time outside and away from the TV, iPads and computer which is wonderful.

feu

Right now they are cooking sausages on a makeshift fire on the beach :- )

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I started ‘Chapter One’ of my third book today!!! chapetr one

Although the characters are all very much in my head, I now have to work out how I’m going to tell their story… but I reckon there’s no better way to do than to just start writing… so I did just that today.  So exciting!

Okay, my little Robinson Crusoe’s are calling me to go and taste their delicious fire-cooked sausages on the beach, so I better head off  🙂

It was lovely to spend some time with you and until next time, take care and keep smiling.

imagesWBN21T3P

A bientot!

 

images80DWK64Q

I first saw the Coffee posts on Suzie Speaks’ blog – check out her awesome blog here! https://suzie81speaks.com/ But she says that initially the Coffee posts was the brainchild of the Part Time Monster which you can check out here! https://parttimemonster.com

Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOP on Julie Valerie’s website, click here: http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hop-july-2016

 

 

 

10 responses to “If we were having coffee… this week

  1. Christine Carles says:

    Chapter 1… congratulations… when can I read it ?!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Am I understanding correctly that you’re afraid of flying? If so, double-congratulations on making the trip and I’m glad it was so wonderful once you got there.
    And those sausages on the beach sound truly wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s more the fact of being cooped up with people all around me that makes me anxious… it’s horrible. But it’s always worth it in the end. Must say the sausages where delicious 🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  3. Oh, I loved having coffee with you this morning, Cassandra! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed quality time with your father and family. That you could rest and relax, and that you survived the flight!

    It’s so special to meet other writers in person, isn’t it? Like meeting a kindred spirit.

    And congrats on the book cover and chapter one of book three. That’s so awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Julie 🙂 Yes it is so special to meet another writer – as you say it’s like meeting a kindred spirit. I wish I had the opportunity of meeting all of you one day too 🙂 I know only one Mauritian writer and she lives in America!!! so it does feel a bit lonely doing this here in Mauritius. Thank goodness for the internet 🙂

      Like

  4. Sounds like you’ve had a wonderful time all around. Many good things happening. Wishing you even more amazing times to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sandiedocker says:

    You’ve been very busy!
    Tess’s book has been getting quite a bit of press here.
    Lovely having coffee with you, though mine is a hot chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

