Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

Valentine’s Day Fiasco

on February 10, 2016

images

 

 

 

 

 

Valentine’s day can be wonderfully romantic and special, but it can also sometimes be excruciatingly embarrassing for some… like me.

So instead of sharing my best Valentine’s moments with you, I thought it would be fun to tell you about my embarrassing one 🙂 So here goes…

imagesDAGSDFG

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, so I was only twelve years old at the time, but it still makes me cringe when I think about it and I remember it as if it were yesterday…

I had had a crush on this boy, Paul, for over a year. He wasn’t in my class but had been the previous year, and I thought he was amazing. He was one of the popular kids, and well… I wasn’t!

tumblr_mcgzzcxVIn1qkmdkeo1_1280

I have no idea what got into me, but I decided to send him a Valentine’s card although I knew full well that he wasn’t interested in me, and would never be.

I bought a really cute card with a teddy on it written;

If you won’t be my Valentines…” on the front, and inside,

I’ll be yours, ok?”  puppy love

It was really cute. I wrote ‘Dear Paul’ inside, and instead of putting ‘???’ after ‘from’, I wrote my name by mistake!! Realising that I couldn’t give it to him with my name in it, I tipexed it out thinking it would do the trick. So after school the day before Valentine’s, my friend (who was in his class) and I waited until everyone had left before creeping back upstairs and slipping the card in his desk, giggling and finding it all very funny.

The next day at school I felt a bit nervous at the thought that he had seen the card, yet excited because it was a bit of a thrill too. I wondered if he would figure out who it was from, but then again, never thought he would link it back to me…

Then at lunch time, I was with my friends in the corridor with plenty of other kids around, when I saw Paul making his way towards us. I blushed and my heart began to race. I was horrified and knew that he had found out that the card was from me and as he was definitely not smiling, I guessed that he wasn’t coming to declare his undying love for me – but I didn’t expect what followed…

He walked up to me and, flashing my Valentine’s card at me, he said coldly, “I know it was from you – I scratched the tipex off and saw your name!” I was so embarrassed and just stood there speechless, as everyone looked at me.

But he hadn’t finished with me yet!

To my horror, he added;

“And this is what I think of it!”  before TEARING UP THE CARD in front of me and everyone else who was watching, before dumping it in the bin and walking off!!!

 

surprised-face1

It was MORTIFYING!!! I tried to act as though I didn’t care and I just laughed it off, but inside I was so embarrassed. It was awful. Needless to say that that was the first and last time that I ever sent a Valentine’s card to someone – unless I was going out with them and knew they’d be happy to get it 🙂 🙂

How about you? Any cringingly embarrassing Valentine’s day moments? Please share – I would really love to know that I’m not alone 😀

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Valentine’s Day Fiasco

  1. msa1al says:

    My boyfriend at the time didn’t get me anything , but he came over to eat !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

