Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

The ‘before’…

on November 26, 2015

cassandra-web My second book signing session…

Yep, there you have it. I am really, truly going to put myself through another book signing session tomorrow, even after my first rather nightmarish experience. Why am I doing this to myself ? Is it really worth the pain? I don’t know, but everyone keeps telling me that I have to get out there, so this is me doing exactly that! I am in a panic as I really, really hate all this marketing, putting myself forward stuff. It is so embarrassing and I just keep thinking, “What if no one comes to talk to me?”, “What if I don’t sell even ONE book?”, will I recover from the despair?

yjod oy

I’m being overly dramatic – I know – but it’s because I’m really nervous. It was just so hard the first time around, although if I’m completely honest, after the first 2 hours of NO ONE coming to talk to me, the third hour was quite fun and 5 or 6 people did come up to me, and 3 people bought my book and one even took my photo (so cool)!! So all in all, not too bad on the whole. But right now, my stomach is in knots and all I can think of is those first 2 hours instead of focusing on that last positive hour…

ce297c10936b20d0af4dcdd3faf4a24e

Okay, so let’s look on the bright side! I’m doing something to try to sell my book. That’s gotto be a good thing right? And besides, as I often ask my kids when they worry about something, “What’s the worst thing that can happen?” In this case, I don’t sell any books! Fair enough it’ll hurt my ego a little 🙂 but it’s really not the end of the world.

imagesRK2N939P

And when I really think about it, I actually have so much to gain from doing it; the experience will make me stronger because it’ll take guts for me to go there tomorrow despite my anxiety; it will be one more book signing under my belt giving me a better insight into what to do or what not to do to make a book signing work; I might meet some wonderful people; and most importantly, at the end of the day, I’ll be able to say ‘I did it’!

imagesTRSLRX12

So just thought I’d share the ‘before the book signing’ feelings with you tonight 🙂 Will get back to you with the ‘after’ comments tomorrow 😀

Happy Thanksgiving to all my readers in the US! Have a wonderful day.

 

 

 

2 responses to “The ‘before’…

  1. Christine Carles says:

    Good luck, I’m sure a few people will come for a chat! But bring a good book to read just in case

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

