Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

Dig a little deeper…

on October 21, 2015

imagesE3QZ8URM

Yesterday, I was thinking of my new book and what the main characters would look like…

And without even thinking about it, I had created a mental image of a gorgeous guy for my leading man…

imagesYJRFDHS0

And then, for some reason, it suddenly struck me that in most of the books I read and in the ones I’ve written, the main characters are all good looking or gorgeous even… and there’s nothing wrong with that.

But then again, I spend my time telling my kids that appearances aren’t what’s important, but that it’s what inside that counts…

imagesUGAFZXQO

So why do I feel the need to always have gorgeous guys as my leading men? Do I feel that readers won’t want to read a book where the main character is not good looking or drool worthy? Probably. Do I want to read a book where the main character is not good looking and doesn’t make me wish I was the leading lady? Probably not.

And this really upset me. It made me feel really shallow, and I had never considered myself a shallow person before.

So I dug a little deeper and asked myself if I would like a character just because he was gorgeous, even if he was evil and had no sense of humour? And I realised that my answer would be: Definitely not.

I thus realised that in books just as in real life, it’s not just the looks that count –  it’s definitely more complex than that. The beauty factor of the characters makes us dream (and maybe drool a little) but the personality is what makes us grow attached to the character and want to spend time with him, so to speak.

I feel much better now 🙂

However, I definitely think I’ll make it a challenge for one of my next books to dig a little deeper and create a really average looking main character and make the readers fall in love with him because he’s just a wonderful, charming, fun and funny guy!

                                                                 2

Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOP on Julie Valerie’s Book Blog, click here: http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hop-oct-2015

21 responses to “Dig a little deeper…

  1. Brooke says:

    You made some great points. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aleen D says:

    That was a great post. I have yet to read about an average looking Joe as the hero instead of the sidekick.

    Like

    • Thanks Aleen. Actually when I come to think of it, the main character in my first book is cutish but not gorgeous so that makes me feel better 🙂 If you read it, let me know what you think 🙂 Thanks for dropping by – come again soon 🙂

      Like

  3. Good points – even if the main characters are not described as overly-attractive, in my mind I still see them that way…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I agree that most people don’t want to read about unattractive heroes, but I stay away from the “perfect” hero – he’s always good looking, but with flaws – a bit on the short side, regular body as opposed to ripped abs, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds like a great idea. After writing that article I actually realised that in my first book, the main male character is just average looking so I’m relieved 🙂 However, must admit that in my second book I didn’t do so well and fell into the handsome, gorgeous clichés 😦 But boy was it fun to spend time with them in my head 😀

      Like

    • P.S. Thanks for dropping by 🙂 Come again soon!

      Like

  5. Excellent point! We should all create characters that are loved because we WROTE them that way – and didn’t simply borrow from social norms of beauty. So true. So true!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess it’s probably easier sometimes to do that – we’re probably a bit lazy as getting an average character to seem extraordinary is harder work than starting off with the extraordinary looks in the first place 🙂 I actually realised that in my first book, my main male character is actually just average looking so I’m relieved 😉 I hadn’t thought about it until now. But in my second book I have completely fallen into the good looks cliché thing 😦 But what a pleasure it was to spend time with them in my head 😀

      Like

  6. tkrimms says:

    I think in fiction we all do this. It’s easier in TV I think :).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post, and got me thinking. I personally hate seeing all of these young, hunky guys on book covers. I mean, I have a son who is young and hunky and I just can’t go there, lol. Plus I think it subtracts from the story. I want to read about real people and real lives and face it, most of us are quite ordinary. Yet within our ordinariness lies great surprises. Cheers and happy writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sandiedocker says:

    I’ve just read a book (by a well-established author) where there were four story lines and in each of them the male lead was stunningly gorgeous, and it really got on my nerves.

    In my current MS my love interest is deliberately average looking, but boy is he an amazing man. Maybe because my characters are a bit older and looks aren’t so important then, but despite his lack of six pack and chiselled magazine good looks, I reckon most women will still swoon over him.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Corey says:

    Ian Somerhalder!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

