Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

Books that grab us, heart and soul…

on August 24, 2015

11887930_10153110279623379_4363095962941331140_n
This is just so true. I have read so many books that I really enjoyed but there are definitely some that swallowed me up heart and soul. Pure treasures.

My most recent favourite is How to Fall in Love by Cecilia Ahern. I just love that book so much. It’s touching, deep and funny and the main characters are just wonderful. Right behind is P.S. I Love You which was heartbreakingly beautiful. Then there’s Me Before You by Jojo Moyes which is heart breakingย but so beautifully written. It made me cry for weeks afterwards but it was worth it. And there’s alsoย If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Foreman…

Clipboard

These are books that I can read and re-read over and over again. It’s like I just want to keep being with the characters in the book, I want them to be a part of my life or me a part of theirs…

Please share your personal treasures with me and help me discover new gems ๐Ÿ™‚

Can’t wait to hear from you all!

Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOPย on Julie Valerieโ€™s Book Blog, click here:ย http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hop-aug-2015

24 responses to “Books that grab us, heart and soul…

  1. A book that I love and has really made me think about positivity is Blue Sun, Yellow Sky, by Jamie Jo Hoang. I loved it, it is so inspirational, plus the story and writing is really good. I wrote a review on it if you are interested. Here is the link – http://wp.me/p4CHeD-d2
    I also really really love Anne of Green Gables, where she says –
    “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it”. I love Anne. I loved P.S I Love You, but I haven’t read the others you mentioned.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Amanda! THANK YOU SO MUCH for replying ๐Ÿ™‚ Am sorry for taking so long to acknowledge your reply but with the new school year that started for us yesterday I was in a complete whirlwind being the completely disorganised mum that I am!!!!! Anyway, I will definitely have a look at Blue Sun, Yellow Sky as I’ve read your review and it sounds amazing. Thanks for that. I really recommend How to fall in love by Cecilia Ahern – it’s so touching, and funny – I just fell in love with the main characters. She just has a wonderful way of writing. I just love it. Thanks again for your reply! Have a lovely day ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sandiedocker says:

    My favourite book of all time is “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamant. I read it between 10 and 15 years ago and I can still see scenes from it in my mind. “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” is another that I LOVED. Geraldine Brookes, if you like historical fiction, is a master, especially “People of the Book”.

    Like

    • Hi Sandie! I’ve never heard of The Red Tent but will definitely have a look at it. There are so many books that I’ve never heard of and it’s great to get feedback as now I have lots of books to go have a look at and read.Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. paulinewiles says:

    I just finished Me Before You – oh my gosh, I know exactly what you mean. I will check out your other recommendations, for sure! I also thought The Rosie Project was sweet, funny and clever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The other books aren’t as heart breaking as Me Before You :-). I don’t usually like sad books but I just loved that one. Kept hoping for a happy ending but the ending makes sense even though it was so sad. It was fun to read the bit where they came to Mauritius on holiday ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I ‘ve heard of the Rosie Project and will definitely get around to reading it. Sounds special. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Brea Brown says:

    I don’t re-read many contemporary books, although I do read classics like Pride & Prejudice every once in a while. It’s like having a chat with an old friend. I’ve also read To Kill a Mockingbird several times. The Harry Potter series would probably be my most re-read books. Love them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t believe I’ve never read the Harry Potter series!!! I keep telling myself that but for some reason am just not motivated to despite everyone loving it. I will definitely get around to it soon ๐Ÿ™‚ As for re-reading books, I do a lot of that. I love revisiting a book I loved because it feels like I’m spending time with the wonderful characters again. I just don’t want it to end so I go back and visit them again ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s the same with movies I love, I watch them over and over again!! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. I adored Me Before You, although it broke my heart! Some of my favorites include The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, Attachments, Eleanor and Park, and FanGirl by Rainbow Rowell, and The Opposite of Love by Julie Buxbaum. I read at least a book a week and so it’s hard to remember my favorites! Did you read Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern? SO good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it broke my heart too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and I usually hate sad books but I just loved it anyway. Haven’t read any of your favourites so will definitely go have a look at those books. Am very excited to have so many titles as a reference! Yes I’ve all of Cecilia Ahern’s books, am a huge fan. I loved Love, Rosie too and the movie was lovely as well. I didn’t go back too far in finding my favourites as I also read SO much – that’s why I stuck to the most recent ones and didn’t get into the classics etc. Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Stopping by from the Fiction Writers Hop. I’ve read a couple of Celia Ahern books but neither of those. She’s so great. I also recently finally read Me Before You, which was very good. One of my all-time fave books is Jane Eyre. Love, love that book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Jane Eyre is a classic. I didn’t go back that far because there are too many but it’s true that I really should get down to re-reading all the great classics. Even Jane Austen books etc Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. Jayne Denker says:

    There are some books that I read over and over because they’re “dug in” in my psyche. Like Juliet, Naked (Nick Hornby) and One Day (David Nicholls). And, of course, a slew of romances by my favorite authorsโ€”too many to list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know Juliet, Naked but I like Nick Hornby so will read it. Thanks for the tip. As for One Day, I loved that book so much but hated the ending with a passion. I just don’t have the heart to read it again. I thought about tearing out the last chapter and pretend that all ends well… It’s so beautiful and so beautifully written and if it had a happy ending I would definitely read it a few times, but I just can’t cope with the ending. Am too much of a romantic ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. I love everything by Cecelia Ahern. P.S. I Love You is one of my favorites and I really enjoyed Love, Rosie as well. She’s one of my go-to authors. Loved, loved, loved the film adaption of P.S. I Love You. Watched it and cried so much – I replayed it again and cried some more. Clearly, I’m a goofball. Who’d do that? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ME ๐Ÿ™‚ And I did!!! I watched it and cried and watched it again and cried some more!! You’re not alone.

    Like

  10. tkrimms says:

    I find it impossible to name favorites, and I list some and then more come to me. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson was spectacular and up there in my favorites. I read it in about 12 hours.

    Like

  11. I just added “How to Fall in Love” to my to-read list thanks to your recommendation. However, I steer WAY clear of books that are warned to make me cry for weeks. I don’t care how good they are. LOL. One of my favorites from years ago that I’m thinking I need to read again is “One” by Richard Bach. I haven’t read his stuff in years, so I’m not sure if I would even care for his style anymore, but that is a book that has always stayed with me. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am totally with you on the crying for weeks thing. I avoid them at all costs – that’s why I just haven’t had the heart to read The Fault in our Stars! Me before You caught me by surprise – I didn’t realise it was going to be so heartbreaking ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope you enjoy How to Fall in Love as much as I did. The first few chapters may be a bit slow but keep reading and you’ll love it ๐Ÿ™‚ Haven’t heard of One by Richard Bach but will have a look at it. Am so excited as I have this long list of books to have a look at now ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

