Cassandra Piat

All about the woman, the author and Mauritius…

MY ‘NOT LOOKING AT SALES REPORT’ WEEK!

on June 23, 2015

Hi everyone!

I never thought it would be soooooo hard to get people overseas to read my book… I guess I thought that as it was set in Mauritius it was exotic and different and thus would make people want to read it. But no, apparently not. But then again, there are so SO MANY great books out there and SO MANY wonderful authors, it’s logical that it’s not easy – but I guess you never realise just how hard it is until you get your book out there…

There is a wonderful community of authors on Facebook and I feel really lucky and privileged to be a part of them. We all help each other out in any way we can (advice, boosting, sharing etc.) and it’s really wonderful and encouraging. Last week it was my week to promote my book (as in books with author’s with the letter P) with the help of all these wonderful people who did a fantastic job by tweeting and retweeting and sharing my book link. Amazing! And THANK YOU to you all.

But at the end of the day, I sold ONE book over the weekend after all that hype and after discounting my book down to 99 cents!!!! and I couldn’t help feeling completely depressed about it yesterday..

But as my amazing sister said to me, it doesn’t matter how many books you sell, just look at it as a great way of getting to know other great authors out there and allowing them to find out about you, who you are and what you do…

So this week I am looking at things in a different way – I will NOT go and look at my sales report on amazon AT ALL THIS WEEK!!! And I will keep smiling and think positive 🙂

Have a lovely week everyone – will let you know how my ”not looking” thing went (hopefully it’ll be more successful than my weekly organiser thing :-D!!!)

Thanks for reading! I’m linking this post to the Fiction Writers Blog Hop hosted by Julie Valerie. Click here to return to the hop. 


7 responses to “MY ‘NOT LOOKING AT SALES REPORT’ WEEK!

  1. Hang in there. And maybe take yourself out for ice cream. Or wine. Something fun. Thinking of you – wishing you weren’t feeling so discouraged. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassiepiat says:

      Thanks so much Valerie. Am so touched by yr words. Have managed to avoid sales dashboard all week so am feeling much better 🙂 Definitively did the wine and ice cream thing – actually more chocolate than ice cream because its actually freezing at the moment here 🙂 I have also decided to just concentrate on finalising my second book and just to KEEP SMILiNG 🙂 after all, it’s a new adventure and i just need to embrace it! Thks again for yr support. Have a lovely day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tkrimms says:

    It’s so hard NOT to look! I know what you mean by having a unique story or something different and thinking everyone will want to read it. Just keep writing and get the next book out there. You wrote a book! And published it! How many people can say that? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassiepiat says:

      Thanks for your encouragement – it really helps. I have actually managed not to look at all this week – am so proud of myself 🙂 Have just been editing my second book all week and tried to just forget about the first one for the moment. Have a great day and thanks again!

      Like

  3. sandiedocker says:

    Hang in there. One of the biggest problems these days is being ‘heard’ amongst the noise of all the novels out there. Keep going!!!

    Like

    • cassiepiat says:

      Thanks so much Sandie. I guess I never thought it would be this hard but have decided to just keep going and just enjoy the ride 🙂 Am very proud to say that I haven’t even taken a tiny peek at my sales report this week!!! It feels better this way, no crashing disappointment to cope with, so I feel much better 🙂 Thanks again and have a lovely weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

